• Rate & Review
  • Add to Library
  • Add to Wishlist

Captain Toad™: Treasure Tracker

Puzzle, Platformer 

Explore a variety of tricky sandbox-style levels inspired by Japanese box gardens called Hakoniwa in Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker for Nintendo Switch. 

Release Date
Jul 13th, 2018
Publisher
Nintendo
ESRB Rating
E
Has Physical Release
Yes
Price
$39.99 (USD)
Overall Rating
Gameplay Rating
Graphics Rating
Performance Rating
Number of Players
2+
Play Modes
Supported Controllers

Screenshots

Related Videos

Description

Captain Toad stars in his own puzzling quest on the Nintendo Switch™ system! Our stubby hero must dodge dangers and track treasures across many trap-filled courses. Survive smoldering volcanoes, hazardous steam engines, haunted houses, and even new courses based on the Super Mario Odyssey™ game! Luckily, a second player can join in by tossing turnips at enemies.

Play anytime, anywhere, and anyway you want—even in two-player mode using a pair of Joy-Con™ controllers on one Nintendo Switch system—in TV mode or Tabletop mode. You could also play alone in handheld mode! No matter what, explore each puzzling course for treasure, like hidden Super Gems and Power Stars. As you reclaim the treasure stolen by the monstrous, greedy bird, Wingo, you’ll eventually be able to play as Toadette! These tiny heroes must waddle, hide, pluck, chuck, and power-up through enemy-infested locales like towers, wild-west shanties, and Goomba waterparks—all bursting with secrets. Aim your head-mounted flashlight at adventure!

With a free software update for the Captain Toad game and the Toy-Con VR Goggles from Nintendo Labo™: VR Kit, join Captain Toad for a bite-sized bonus experience in simple, family friendly VR*. Discover these experiences by revisiting the following courses as Captain Toad in four new mini-missions:
• The Treasure at Mushroom Ruins
• Walleye Tumble Temple
• Briny Bowl Swimming Hole
• Mine Cart Tunnel Throwdown

On NSG Reviews©

Maximinium
9/5/2021
Jackpack
9/5/2021
weegee90000
5/26/2021
Spud
5/25/2021
Idk_a_name
5/1/2021
BBD
3/11/2021
Overall this game is amazing for a puzzle game. But if you are looking for a game that has so much game play that it will take you a long time to complete this is not the game for you. Me personally am in love with this game. I like how even when you complete a level there are still things in that level to do like find all 3 gems, the bonus mission, and even find the little toad on the map! If you like puzzle games this is a must have for your switch collection.
Show MoreShow Less
Magwitch
2/10/2021
What a gem of a puzzle game. It can be played casually, proceeding from a unique stage to the other, but it can offer a good challenge as well, if you want to get all the collectables and extra objectives, without feeling frustrating. This game is really for everyone. It's perfect.
Show MoreShow Less
Shock_Wave
7/30/2020
Fun puzzle game
Show MoreShow Less
Tryxter
7/29/2020
Amazing puzzle game. Some puzzles are complex and there are many interesting mechanics to work within the game. Also, the $5 DLC levels are amazing as well.
Show MoreShow Less
DanMarzi
7/29/2020
Very challenging and fun
Show MoreShow Less
VoluXian
7/28/2020
I've played way too much of this game, speedrunning and dissecting each stage. Level design is gorgeous and I wish I had a lifesize model of Chapter 1-1. Captain Toad is a fun little adventure you won't regret venturing into.
Show MoreShow Less
surfinbrat
7/26/2020
This game is a real treat! Not only is it adorable, it's also very disarming in its cuteness. It makes it seem like the puzzles are easy, which some relatively are, but the puzzles are still challenging and the experience of the little "world" the puzzle lives in is simply a delight. I recommend it for young and old! I only wish I had a Nintendo 3DS to play it in 3D but I see it has a VR mode to use with the VR Labo goggles, so maybe I can find myself a set of those.
Show MoreShow Less
@NintendoObsess
7/26/2020
A cute adorable game. It has a lot of levels and you can reply them to find all the crystals and stickers. It's a beautiful game with small levels. I would say to play time here and there each time but this game isn't meant for hours of playtime each day
Show MoreShow Less
HarryL
7/12/2020
knovice
6/5/2020
Really enjoyable game that mixes puzzle and platforming, but pick it up on sale, not worth the full price given that it's a wii u port
Show MoreShow Less
jazusa03
6/3/2020
Moogy
4/17/2020
Great game that im disappointed in not just buying on the 3DS, since Switch controls for this game are pretty poor imo.
But game is super fun, i just recommend the 3DS one over this port
Show MoreShow Less
Gretz
4/16/2020
Subjugglator
4/16/2020
iRamos99
12/17/2019

On Steam™ 0 0

* Disclaimer: Reviews are from the Steam (PC) version of the game. These are not indicative of performance on Switch.
Guest Date: 6/27/2022