• Rate & Review
  • Add to Library
  • Add to Wishlist

The Legend of Zelda™: Breath of the Wild

Adventure, Action, Role-Playing, Other 

Step into a world of discovery, exploration and adventure in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, a boundary-breaking new game in the acclaimed series 

Release Date
Mar 3rd, 2017
Publisher
Nintendo
ESRB Rating
E10
Has Physical Release
Yes
Price
$59.99 (USD)
Overall Rating
Gameplay Rating
Graphics Rating
Performance Rating
Number of Players
Single Player
Play Modes
Supported Controllers

Screenshots

Related Videos

Description

Forget everything you know about The Legend of Zelda games. Step into a world of discovery, exploration, and adventure in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, a boundary-breaking new game in the acclaimed series. Travel across vast fields, through forests, and to mountain peaks as you discover what has become of the kingdom of Hyrule in this stunning Open-Air Adventure. Now on Nintendo Switch, your journey is freer and more open than ever. Take your system anywhere, and adventure as Link any way you like.

On NSG Reviews©

Orange Man
6/7/2022
It's The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild. What more is there to say? I could rant about how great every aspect of this game is but you've more likely than not already played it yourself. It's easily not only one of the greatest Zelda games but one of the greatest games of all time. If you haven't played this game, than you are missing out.
Show MoreShow Less
vertalus
6/6/2022
Lulu
12/15/2021
its diffrent from normal zelda games and still keeping the puzzels and features with a good combat system and a big map
Show MoreShow Less
Avishapiro58
10/30/2021
loserboi
10/28/2021
This is a game for basically everyone. You can play this game exactly the way you want. Amazing game even for first time Zelda players like myself.
Show MoreShow Less
Kass VT
9/13/2021
I mean yeah it's good what else you want me to say.
Show MoreShow Less
Lv100Nerd
9/5/2021
Maximinium
9/5/2021
Jackpack
9/5/2021
iamword
9/4/2021
cookies91
9/4/2021
IncompleteSky
8/29/2021
BlueRose127
8/15/2021
S3RGI0_360
8/14/2021
Una obra maestra en el desarrollo de videojuegos.
Show MoreShow Less
Luckoli
8/10/2021
Rickstar2008
8/4/2021
Smudgey
7/24/2021
bradmadeit
7/22/2021
Spencer2585
7/15/2021
Overall a great game and shakeup to the traditional formula. The only problems being a few framedrops in certain areas.
Show MoreShow Less
Weezie_Lou
7/4/2021
Rey305
6/29/2021
The legend of Zelda has always been a staple of Nintendo but breath of the wild is the most hyped switch game to have come out it does live up to the hype it’s a really cool game and it has a lot of components which make it great such as the way you can make food to give you certain buffs or health but yeah breath of the wild is a must have and it’s a really cool game overall
Show MoreShow Less
ddrubio89
5/28/2021
Joegaminglegend
5/28/2021
I do not get the hype on this game. I have tried to play it four times now from the beginning and I get bored with it. I guess is not for everyone
Show MoreShow Less
Mickey
5/27/2021
My first Zelda game. This was amazing, it was unfortunate that it was one of my first real open-world games because all others now have to compare to this.
Show MoreShow Less
alexe094
5/27/2021
weegee90000
5/26/2021
Feegeeboy
5/26/2021
Yamamura
5/25/2021
Spud
5/25/2021
Skskgang
5/25/2021
Melissa
4/30/2021
Idk_a_name
4/30/2021
Great game with story it’s the switch’s best game
Show MoreShow Less
soos
4/10/2021
idk what to say.. the visuals, the gameplay, the storyline.. just perfect.
Show MoreShow Less
ryanscottbaker
3/20/2021
Skit
2/14/2021
Crafty203
1/28/2021
Minion2306
1/24/2021
Dragonify
12/29/2020
Best game you can get on Switch, no doubt about it. Beautiful graphic and environment. Super fun to play, great story. There's always constantly things you find and get distracted by. Frame rates may get a little choppy is a few places, but overall it still works fine.
Show MoreShow Less
EeeBear
12/28/2020
bellachaos
12/26/2020
One of the greatest games of all time, and my favorite Zelda game to date.
Show MoreShow Less
Angel840
12/1/2020
The best game ever
Show MoreShow Less
Jsn
11/24/2020
Pretty good graphics and pretty fun. Must have
though it does lag from time to time not very often though
Show MoreShow Less
NienkeAdrienne
11/18/2020
Zula
11/16/2020
Maria
10/31/2020
One of my favorite games ever. I this is my first LoZ game, but it definitely won't be my last. The graphics are amazing, even though the game is huge. You have a huge open world with a lot to explore. The gameplay is great. You can easily put hundreds of hours into the game
Show MoreShow Less
alinare
10/28/2020
Dokoro
9/8/2020
Vexidyy
9/3/2020
DaRo.
8/31/2020
kiwi
8/18/2020
Mimicolored
8/16/2020
Kerootje
8/13/2020
Slug0bear
8/12/2020
...Play it.
It's super good and the controls are nice. The design of this game is gorgeous and I'd often just wander up mountains just because I could.
The shrines are alright if you're into puzzles, but I'm not the biggest fan of them.
The characters are super sweet and I love the little kid in Hateno, the one with the sword quest! and Beedle, Beedle is amazing.

If you're into open-world exploring type games, I'd recommend it!
Show MoreShow Less
RianFang
8/7/2020
I found this game very fun and if u like it I recommend hollow knight
Show MoreShow Less
Nicholas7924
8/6/2020
rondon605
8/2/2020
Vexidy
8/1/2020
best switch game to be made! check it out!
Show MoreShow Less
HarryL
7/30/2020
AMAZING!! Everything I wanted and more in a Zelda game may be the best game on the switch
Show MoreShow Less
Shock_Wave
7/30/2020
Amazing open world twist on an already excellent game series.
Show MoreShow Less
Frederick_T
7/30/2020
DanMarzi
7/29/2020
Lot's off fun, still playing it
Show MoreShow Less
El_DaaS
7/28/2020
VoluXian
7/28/2020
Arguably the most important adventure Link has embarked on. What a way to get up after a long slumber.
Show MoreShow Less
Mayers
7/27/2020
Alonelylemon
7/27/2020
FCRacer
7/27/2020
Prior to playing Breath of the Wild, I was not a fan of any of the 3D Zelda games. I grew up on the Zelda titles from the NES, SNES, and Game Boy era. And the idea of Zelda being a 3D adventure didn't really resonate with me. So going into Breath of the Wild, I had my reservations. BotW exceeded everything ten fold. I'd consider BotW an essential game for the Nintendo Switch.
Show MoreShow Less
alexbowe
7/27/2020
engda59
7/27/2020
GILTURIA
7/27/2020
Best open world game
Show MoreShow Less
Rachfor3
7/27/2020
EzioMenutti
7/27/2020
tink
7/27/2020
big map, great story and so many things to do. for 60 dollars...yea worth it.
Show MoreShow Less
AlexAzumi
7/26/2020
dewdropdreamer
7/26/2020
surfinbrat
7/26/2020
I'm more interested in simulation type games so that's how I play this one. I don't follow the story at all and find plenty to do on my own. It's a bit overwhelming as a game but I go back to it every now and then and play for hours.
Show MoreShow Less
FC Shade
7/26/2020
@NintendoObsess
7/26/2020
This game was done perfectly. This is one of the first game you should play if you get a Nintendo Switch. This game is easily 70+ hours and once you leave yhe starting place you can literally do anything you want it's a huge open world. Take it slow and enjoy the game.

2nd best game on Nintendo Switch.
Show MoreShow Less
ejRequiem
7/26/2020
This game allows you to play the game at your own pace and enjoy the scenery of the open world.
Show MoreShow Less
Aaaaaaa
7/26/2020
An stunning game its just amazing and it’s my favorite game 11/10
Show MoreShow Less
lolita
7/10/2020
jhoughton663
7/3/2020
Such a fantastic open world game that is unlike anything i have ever played, this game has kept me busy for more than 50 hours and i still have more to do
Show MoreShow Less
LuxrayLloyd
7/1/2020
An absolute LEGEND of a game
Show MoreShow Less
iHayoona
6/16/2020
Alex
6/14/2020
I absolutely love this game it’s very addictive and I just can’t stop myself from playing this game
Show MoreShow Less
TheVoidRose
6/13/2020
The Legend of Zelda takes on a new gameplay style and nails it. This is an absolute must have for the Nintendo Switch even years later.
Show MoreShow Less
Shadowind
6/9/2020
The game in general is amazing, the story and combat are also really impressive, but the frame rate may drop (when there are lots of explosions).
Show MoreShow Less
knovice
6/5/2020
This just wasn't the zelda title for me. While I loved the open world, I hated the shrines and lack of dungeons. There were no variety to them, which made them repetitive and boring. Really disliked the english voice acting, and Zelda's character was extremely flat. (I recommend switching to german or japanese voices instead). The fight with ganon was extremely unsatisfying. Weapon durability & the lack of enemy variety were extreme negative points for me personally. I think the game should at least have more options for players who don't want to play that way- for example give us the ability to repair weapons we like, or at least have one sword (the master sword) that doesn't break (without needing to buy dlc). The lack of music gets pretty old, because when it does play it is easily the best & most beautiful part of the game.
Show MoreShow Less
CarlX925
6/3/2020
Amazing utterly amazing. Got it in 2017 but even in 2020 it seems to amuse me
Show MoreShow Less
jazusa03
6/3/2020
bobbyjackdotme
5/27/2020
Phriski
5/23/2020
EhLess KT
4/30/2020
One word to describe... Climbing simulation.

BORING...
Show MoreShow Less
I know this may seem unpopular but I did not love this game as much as others do. Yes it is a good game and I understand why people like it but after trying countless times I simply cannot get into it.

I'll start with the good. The game looks and sounds phenomenal. Outside of some minor slowdowns the game looks and feels great. Enemies look cool, and that initial moment after leaving the plateau is incredible. Gliding, climbing, the sheikah slate abilities all feel great. The core of the game is solid. I know a lot of people complain about weapons breaking but the game supplies you with enough for that to be a minor inconvenience not a major setback.

However, the game play loop falls flat for me. Shrines feel spread thin, the story is all but non existent, and it doesn't do anything for me after that initial wow to pull me in. The world looks beautiful but I don't have enough urge to explore it. The first 10 hours are great, finding a horse, taking out some camps, taking on your first divine beast and experiencing each of the firsts in this game feel great but outside of that I am left with what feels like a shallow open world.

Each of those firsts I mention are all the firsts you're going to do. The game I feel doesn't do enough to push me further, to want to save hyrule, to want to do all the shrines, instead I feel like I am left wandering. Games like skyrim and witcher are applauded because their open worlds feel alive, there's varied content and people living their lives and that just does not happen in this game.

I sincerely hope that breath of the wild 2 buffs up this open world and story and gives us more varied content to explore. This is a solid foundation for a great game but for now it just feels OK.
Show MoreShow Less
AymanDev
4/26/2020
npeelee
4/22/2020
Josiah11amel
4/18/2020
its a all around good and fun game
Show MoreShow Less
I think that breath of the wild explored into new territories and it turned out well, anyways breath of the wild is one of my favorite games so I would give a 5/5
Show MoreShow Less
Emustwin
4/18/2020
The signature Switch game
Show MoreShow Less
Chrono
4/17/2020
Long running franchise usually just retread similar core game throughout each series. In which after playing 2-3 of those games pulls you out of the franchise. But when a franchise tries to evolved then it deserves your attention.

Zelda Breath of the wild, story-wise it's more of the same. Save the princess and Hyrule. But the lore and journey to do that has been expanded greatly.

Playing through this open world game is a lot of fun. From your progression from being limited to certain things to being able to reach new heights. The game makes you feel stronger in the absence of a leveling system and that is by no means a small feat. The game also rewards creativity in the way you play which screams the word "fun". However the world at large generally feels empty. It doesn't feel lived out. Even if that's the dev team has been shooting for. Some quality of life improvements would make this game a masterpiece.

I have sinked in a lot of hours playing through the game and it's sheer freedom to progress whether it's character and the story has amazed me. Even with the games frame rate issues It has hooked me from beginning to end.
Show MoreShow Less
Skyblade
4/17/2020
This is an incredible experience, the overall feel of the game along with the wondrous music leaves you fully emersed for hours on end! This game is truly unique in all the very best ways! If you do not have this game and you have a switch what are you doing!
Show MoreShow Less
Endrathiel
4/17/2020
candygominola
4/17/2020
A must in every library.
Show MoreShow Less
Dodsley99
4/17/2020
Its a very enjoyable game at times and tedious at others. The open world is huge and impressive but also there feels a complete lack of direction. While I get that appeal, it's not for me. I felt totally lost at points and picking the game back after putting it down is quite difficult. Some of the gameplay mechanics could be explained better as well. Visually, its a masterpiece and the soundtrack is amazing. It's a very calm and pleasurable game you can easily get lost in (in more ways than one).
Show MoreShow Less
Dan
4/17/2020
HOLY **** i cant get enough of this game i can sit there for hours and play this game. everything about this game is amazing i cant put into how much i love this game just go and get it
Show MoreShow Less
Magwitch
4/17/2020
"Breath of the wild" marks the beginning of a new era for the franchise. Easy for everyone to pick up and enjoy, but, at the same time, complex enough for those willing to dig deeper into its mechanics. What differentiates this new Zelda from other Open World experiences, is the freedom given to the player: there is never just one way to solve a puzzle, fight a monster or reach a new location. The sense of discovery will drive you through its amazing world for hours and hours up until the end and after. Possibly the best "The Legend of Zelda" title, period.
Show MoreShow Less
lalagonca
4/17/2020
danielkrs
4/17/2020
setezerocinco
4/16/2020
An incredible gaming experience that made me play more than 300 hours and counting.
Show MoreShow Less
polymedu
4/16/2020
Moogy
4/16/2020
Not a typical Zelda game, has bad dungeons, breakable items but everything else is 10/10
Show MoreShow Less
salad
4/16/2020
Cooney_mart
4/16/2020
The pinical of the modern video game the quinticintail example of quality in an adventure game
Show MoreShow Less
Jimman
4/16/2020
Arteus
4/16/2020
Pros:
Stunning visuals
Huge open-world that is a joy to traverse
Full of interesting characters
One of the most unique Legend of Zelda games to date
Enough content to keep you occupied for dozens of hours

Cons:
Framerate issues in a single area of the game
Weapon durability is a point of contempt for many
Show MoreShow Less
Spoopy
4/16/2020
An all around fantastic game that you can sink hours into exploring its large and beautiful map, and battling various enemies and bosses. A must have game on Switch!
Show MoreShow Less
Qniine3000
4/16/2020
I was quite reluctant to play this game at first because I am not really a fan of open-world games. Nevertheless, this game is just so amazingly epic that I did not stop playing it for months. The story is astonishing. This is a must-have for the console. PERIODT.
Show MoreShow Less
WhyNotAzu
4/16/2020
this is my favorite zelda game of all time for now until. i just love how the game lets you do what you want and go kill the final boss when you want you can go to the final boss right at the start of the game if you wanted to. the freedom that this game give you is the best out of most open world games ive played since you are not stuck having to do what the game says to do.
Show MoreShow Less
AaronACD
4/16/2020
Spirish7
4/16/2020
Anti
4/16/2020
This game is awesome, if you get a switch pick this up. There is just so much to do from puzzles to killing different enemies. This was my first 3d Zelda game I played and I am glad that I did. I have yet to play through all of it but I spend a lot of time just wandering around collecting and killing things
Show MoreShow Less
Boadsider_2077
4/16/2020
My favorite title in my library so far and a must-own if you have a switch.
Show MoreShow Less
vger2357
4/16/2020
FreddySpageddy
4/16/2020
Gretz
4/16/2020
I think its a good game i just didnt love it
Show MoreShow Less
Ksandur
4/16/2020
Breath of the wild, is a wonderful game.
One of the common things that's holding people back though is the price.
€70 is indeed not the cheapest, so I recommend finding a physical copy instead, they can be found for around €55-€60.
Every penny this game has cost you is worth it, as there is just so much to explore, the beautiful soundtrack, the wonderful graphics, it's a really immersive experience!
The years it took to develop were definitely worth it, and I recommend this game to everyone.
Show MoreShow Less
Subjugglator
4/16/2020
Where do I even start?

BOTW is one of the BEST games I have ever played. For the longest time I was skeptical when fans were saying this was the best zelda game, but man did that immediately change. BOTW wasn’t just a game to me, it was an experience. I really don’t have much to say other than it is lovely.

Whether your fan of RPGs, Zelda, or even a newcomer to the switch, I highly recommend you get this game. Pour your heart into it, it is 100% worth it.
Show MoreShow Less
hai_senpai
12/11/2019
iRamos99
4/28/2019
In my opinion, this is still the best single player rpg game on Nintendo Switch. 2017 Game of the Year. And probably, best game of the decade. If you like action adventure or action rpg games then, this game is for you!

P.S. Try the VR functionality with LABO VR, it is really cool.
Show MoreShow Less

On Steam™ 0 0

* Disclaimer: Reviews are from the Steam (PC) version of the game. These are not indicative of performance on Switch.
Guest Date: 6/27/2022