• Rate & Review
  • Add to Library
  • Add to Wishlist

Super Smash Bros.™ Ultimate

Action, Fighting, Multiplayer 

Legendary game worlds and fighters collide in the ultimate showdown – Super Smash Bros. Ultimate for Nintendo Switch! 

Release Date
Dec 7th, 2018
Publisher
Nintendo
ESRB Rating
E10
Has Physical Release
Yes
Price
$59.99 (USD)
Overall Rating
Gameplay Rating
Graphics Rating
Performance Rating
Number of Players
4+
Play Modes
Supported Controllers

Screenshots

Related Videos

Description

Gaming icons clash in the ultimate brawl you can play anytime, anywhere! Smash rivals off the stage as new characters Simon Belmont and King K. Rool join Inkling, Ridley, and every fighter in Super Smash Bros. history. Enjoy enhanced speed and combat at new stages based on the Castlevania series, Super Mario Odyssey, and more!

Having trouble choosing a stage? Then select the Stage Morph option to transform one stage into another while battling—a series first! Plus, new echo fighters Dark Samus, Richter Belmont, and Chrom join the battle. Whether you play locally or online, savor the faster combat, new attacks, and new defensive options, like a perfect shield. Jam out to 900 different music compositions and go 1-on-1 with a friend, hold a 4-player free-for-all, kick it up to 8-player battles and more! Feel free to bust out your GameCube controllers—legendary couch competitions await—or play together anytime, anywhere!

On NSG Reviews©

Avishapiro58
10/30/2021
Switch4Ever
10/4/2021
This is a good party game when you have lots of people playing, but tends to be hollow if only one or two people are playing. The items and stage hazards keep keep things from getting too boring and repetitive, but result in lots of cheap deaths. The gameplay is a little too simple to make it a serious skill based fighter. The campaign and single player are pretty boring; only get this if you want a party game for 3+ players.
Show MoreShow Less
Kass VT
9/13/2021
It's Smash Bros.
Show MoreShow Less
Arctic
9/5/2021
Maximinium
9/5/2021
Lv100Nerd
9/5/2021
Jackpack
9/5/2021
iamword
9/4/2021
Xakameira
8/18/2021
S3RGI0_360
8/14/2021
El mejor crossover en la historia de los videojuegos.
Show MoreShow Less
AwildMew2
8/6/2021
It's Smash, don't go online without an ethernet cord, or you will have a bad time. World of light is a good single-player story.
Show MoreShow Less
Rickstar2008
8/4/2021
Anyone wanna smash me.
Show MoreShow Less
Smudgey
7/24/2021
turtles
7/20/2021
Nana17
7/20/2021
Overrated… it is only fun to play with other people imo. It’s gets boring fast
Show MoreShow Less
Rey305
6/29/2021
Super smash is a bit over rated ofc everyone has it and it’s fun but I got bored of it quick and I feel like it’s best played with friends, it does have a couple dlcs that are pretty good but it’s just not my taste I guess
Show MoreShow Less
Mayers
6/5/2021
DJ
5/29/2021
This is my first Smash game, but it's an incredible intro to the classic fighting series. The roster is crazy, the gameplay is hard-hitting and satisfying, and playing with friends is a blast. My only gripe is the incredibly long campaign that might test your patience.
Show MoreShow Less
ddrubio89
5/28/2021
Joegaminglegend
5/28/2021
I believe it is the best Switch fighting game hands down!
Show MoreShow Less
Mickey
5/27/2021
Played hours of this with friends. So many different characters, so much fun, high skill ceiling. Online is pretty rough though.
Show MoreShow Less
weegee90000
5/26/2021
app13ju1ce
5/25/2021
Melissa
4/30/2021
Idk_a_name
4/29/2021
One of the switches best game and even on the to 3 games if I don’t have u need this 10/10 game
Show MoreShow Less
GreninjaGamer
4/17/2021
This game is amazing. The Gamplay never gets old and when you kick someone’s **** it really feels like you deserved that win, no bs. The characters look amazing in general. While I can’t say it preforms perfectly but it performs amazing in general. Just the SHEER amount of content would give it four stars but all these things add up to make the best smash game so far. I’ve barely scratched the surface of all the content so I’m hoping to 100% it soon.

5 stars, Ten out of Ten game.
Show MoreShow Less
MariosHL
1/20/2021
GazerBread
1/10/2021
MintChoco
12/7/2020
Most vibrant memories from my youth usually start or end with kicking my siblings' butts in Super Smash Bros on the Gamecube. This game feels like a stroll down memory lane: the characters, the stages, the item drops, etc. are all transferred from twenty years ago. The developers have added fine-tuning, new modes, and new characters of course, but from my recollection, the core mechanics remain the same.

My main gripe has to do with the overhead: I have issues with buying a game for full price (especially a port without a full-length campaign) and then having to pay hefty fees for DLC and online extras. I do commend the developers for keeping couch multiplayer as an option, because in this age of microtransactions, they could have canned every bit of nostalgic excitement and traded it for online multiplayer. Speaking of which, online multiplayer has least amount of care or consideration. Frequent connection issues and a monthly (or annual) fee are some of my major hang ups.

TL;DR: Online multiplayer sucks. Single player campaign is short. Couch multiplayer feeds on nostalgia to great results.
Show MoreShow Less
wronf
12/1/2020
Very good catalog of characters, really nice fundamentals and almost any character is fun to play, good with friends or alone. Not very good campaign and online sucks.
Show MoreShow Less
Angel840
12/1/2020
Best fight game ever
Show MoreShow Less
NienkeAdrienne
11/18/2020
Zula
11/16/2020
EeeBear
11/4/2020
I love it but sometimes it can get boring playing by yourself.
Show MoreShow Less
Maria
10/31/2020
Super Smash Bros Ultimate is a great game to play at a party or gathering with friends. The story mode of the game is amazing, it is packed with spirits and a good story + soundtrack. There is a good roster of characters that is expanding through DLC packs. The gameplay is usually fairly smooth in good. Online however isn't usually the best experience, there is a lot of lag.
Show MoreShow Less
alinare
10/28/2020
ChickenB4T
10/9/2020
001 conor
10/5/2020
GILTURIA
10/3/2020
Slug0bear
9/13/2020
It's super fun to play with friends, the characters are great. I main Toon Link if I can, if not him, then it's usually Ness. I haven't played most of the story mode, but I will eventually!
Show MoreShow Less
Dokoro
9/8/2020
Vexidyy
9/3/2020
NLChief
8/27/2020
Kerootje
8/13/2020
RianFang
8/7/2020
I like this game a lot, but my brothers get mad about it cause I always beat them at it????
Show MoreShow Less
Nicholas7924
8/6/2020
rondon605
8/2/2020
Vexidy
8/1/2020
best fighter game ive ever played. what can top smash ult?
Show MoreShow Less
Shock_Wave
7/30/2020
The best fighting game I have ever played, everything is amazing and there is no shortage of content
Show MoreShow Less
El_DaaS
7/28/2020
VoluXian
7/28/2020
Ultimate's mechanics are pretty solid compared to Smash 4. Of course there are some weird things like the buffer system, which I don't like too much, but it's tolerable.

Online: it's good enough, but leaves much to be desired.

World of Light/Spirits: it's not Subspace yet I really like it for what it is. I don't mind spirits replacing trophies.

The other modes are also fantastic and will have you spending hours on offline play if you really get into them.

Ultimate is nearly the perfect Smash game to me.
Show MoreShow Less
Alonelylemon
7/27/2020
engda59
7/27/2020
EzioMenutti
7/27/2020
Lander
7/27/2020
Loved this series since the N64. Very fun game with friends.
Show MoreShow Less
Ethan
7/27/2020
Brilliant Multiplayer experience
Show MoreShow Less
Leegma
7/27/2020
AlexAzumi
7/26/2020
What can I say about this game. It has been one of the greatest Smash experiences I've ever had.
Show MoreShow Less
dewdropdreamer
7/26/2020
Luis8ustamante
7/26/2020
@NintendoObsess
7/26/2020
This game has a long story mode but it help to unlock characters while you do it. This game the online is where the real game is in my opinion. Yes it can lag here and there but overall this game will be alive for atleast 5 more years and a ton of people play it.

This game was done perfectly.
Show MoreShow Less
MegatonHero
7/26/2020
jhoughton663
7/22/2020
Best fighter game ive played hands down. So much content and stuff to do,only issue is the frame rate sometimes drops online
Show MoreShow Less
HarryL
7/12/2020
Plaazmaa7
7/11/2020
LuxrayLloyd
7/3/2020
The best in its series. It has a ton of amazing characters that everyone can enjoy. (Though, the online could use a little work)
Show MoreShow Less
MrGameman_12
7/2/2020
Great game, the online could use some work.
Show MoreShow Less
Jazzy an
6/17/2020
iHayoona
6/16/2020
TheVoidRose
6/13/2020
A very compelling party fighting game. Endless hours of fun with a huge roster of characters to play with.
Show MoreShow Less
Shadowind
6/9/2020
Every single thing about the game is amazing, if you are here for the story, don’t buy it when you expect mk levels, the story is really average and lacks story telling. But the gameplay is wonderful and fluid.
Show MoreShow Less
jazusa03
6/3/2020
Its smash bros ultimate. You already know if you're going to like it.
Show MoreShow Less
npeelee
4/22/2020
Josiah11amel
4/18/2020
i play this every night with my family
Show MoreShow Less
DrEleven
4/17/2020
The game is simply put: amazing. 74 Fighters, 103 Stages, 1400+ Spirits as of April 2020, and tons of modes. There's really no reason to get bored. First: Classic Mode. Not only is classic mode not the joke that is Wii U's classic mode, but every character has a special route fit for that character. Stage Builder gives you way more freedom then brawl or Wii U. Training mode is way more pro players friendly, by giving you a Training only stage. New modes like Squad strike, Tornament, World of light, spirits board, Smashdown, and Super Sudden Death, all are great additions to the game. Also, spirits. they are suprisingly in depth. Don't let the pngs fool you becuase these can give you boost's and matchups that will make pokemon look like child's play.
The only thing i would say is bad is the online. But, other then that, this game is more then worth your buck.
Show MoreShow Less
Skyblade
4/17/2020
Arteus
4/17/2020
Easily the best Smash Bros game if all you want is to have fun with friends. Sure, Melee has the competitive aspect down with high speed gameplay and all sorts of tech to learn, but Ultimate has the content you need to keep the game fresh for untold hours. The game runs at a solid 60fps at all times, has an absolutely massive roster (especially if you have the DLC characters) and most importantly, is just great fun. I've spent so many hours playing Ultimate with friends already and will likely have many many more to come.
Show MoreShow Less
Dan
4/17/2020
i LOVE this game its just a fast, colourful game were you can **** up your friends. im not great at this game but i still love and win sometimes haha. Definitely pick this game up to play with friends.
Show MoreShow Less
Magwitch
4/17/2020
The "Super Smash Bros." series has always been fun. "Ultimate" is no exception, earning its name by throwing together (almost) all the content of the previous titles. Perfect for local multiplayer with friends, It's just a shame they have yet to figure out the online. But, if you're willing to close an eye on it, you'll find out that "Ultimate" is not just a fighting game, rather a celebration of gaming as a whole.
Show MoreShow Less
danielkrs
4/17/2020
Moogy
4/16/2020
Minus the online latency and Nintendo's terrible servers, its a pretty fantastic game which positives outweigh any negatives supremely
Show MoreShow Less
salad
4/16/2020
Need I say anything about this one? It's smash. cmon.
Show MoreShow Less
Jimman
4/16/2020
Qniine3000
4/16/2020
Online mode could be better. Apart from that, this game is amazing. IT PROVIDES A LOOOT OF CONTENT. This game is the reason why I bought the Nintendo Switch.
Show MoreShow Less
CarioCroc
4/16/2020
WhyNotAzu
4/16/2020
this is an extremely fun game to play with friends and the runs and looks great
Show MoreShow Less
AaronACD
4/16/2020
Tomatommy2
4/16/2020
Perfect for playing with friends. In my opinion the best party game on the switch (yes, better than Mario Party!). I recommend this game, even if it's your first time into the super smash bros universe!
Show MoreShow Less
Slythher
4/16/2020
One of the "must-have" in the switch library. Super Smash Bros Ultimate gives you a simple fighting game with tons of variety in gameplay and in characters. The game is fairly simple to learn but hard to master with nuances with each character. Overall, Smash is one of the best games to play with or without friends and will be one of the best fighting game experience that you can get on the Nintendo Switch
Show MoreShow Less
FreddySpageddy
4/16/2020
Gretz
4/16/2020
Subjugglator
4/16/2020
Pit
12/18/2019
Boni
12/14/2019
hai_senpai
12/11/2019
iRamos99
12/1/2019
Best online fighting game on switch.
Show MoreShow Less

On Steam™ 0 0

* Disclaimer: Reviews are from the Steam (PC) version of the game. These are not indicative of performance on Switch.
Guest Date: 6/27/2022