• Rate & Review
  • Add to Library
  • Add to Wishlist

Animal Crossing™: New Horizons

Simulation 

Start your new life with Nook Inc.'s Deserted Island Getaway Package! 

Release Date
Mar 20th, 2020
Publisher
Nintendo
ESRB Rating
E
Has Physical Release
Yes
Price
$59.99 (USD)
Overall Rating
Gameplay Rating
Graphics Rating
Performance Rating
Number of Players
4+
Play Modes
Supported Controllers

Screenshots

Related Videos

Description

Escape to a deserted island and create your own paradise as you explore, create, and customize in the Animal Crossing: New Horizons game. Your island getaway has a wealth of natural resources that can be used to craft everything from tools to creature comforts. You can hunt down insects at the crack of dawn, decorate your paradise throughout the day, or enjoy sunset on the beach while fishing in the ocean. The time of day and season match real life, so each day on your island is a chance to check in and find new surprises all year round.

Show off your island utopia to family and friends—or pack your bags and visit theirs. Whether playing online* or with others beside you**, island living is even better when you can share it. Even without hopping on a flight, you’ll meet a cast of charming animal residents bursting with personality. Friendly faces like Tom Nook and Isabelle will lend their services and happily help you grow your budding community. Escape to your island getaway—however, whenever, and wherever you want.

• Build your community from scratch on a deserted island brimming with possibility

• Create your personal getaway and customize your character, home, decorations, and even the landscape itself

• Collect materials to construct everything from furniture to tools! Then, use what you create to give your island a personal touch

• Watch as the time of day and seasons match real life—even your hemisphere! Each day holds potential for surprises and discoveries

• Get to know the island residents, garden, fish, decorate, hunt for fossils, and more!

• Show off your paradise – play on the same system with a total of 4 people**, or play together online* or over local wireless** for fun with up to 8 players

On NSG Reviews©

vertalus
6/6/2022
Calgirl46
1/3/2022
chasm55
1/1/2022
AgenAtTerminal
12/25/2021
Animal Crossing New Horizons is the main reason I brought my switch and it didn’t fail me, this game is very calming and is very fun if you just looking to sit down chill and play a game on your switch.
Show MoreShow Less
GingerNotANinja
12/24/2021
the reason I bought a Switch, and my favourite game. This was the true Game of the Year that got us all through this Panini
Show MoreShow Less
luna
12/16/2021
SUCH CUTE GAME!
Show MoreShow Less
Lulu
12/15/2021
its a fun time consuming game and has place for alot of creativity
Show MoreShow Less
Georgegg1
12/6/2021
Ice_boii101
11/20/2021
It is a really fun game with cute graphic.If you like cozy type of game this game is for you.
Show MoreShow Less
sickwithsin
10/28/2021
loserboi
10/28/2021
super fun and relaxing game. It does hit almost all marks for me but I do love games with a clear goal.
Show MoreShow Less
Maximinium
9/5/2021
New Leaf was 10 times better than this boring game
Show MoreShow Less
Arctic
9/5/2021
Lv100Nerd
9/5/2021
Jackpack
9/5/2021
Nana17
7/20/2021
I kind of think this game is overrated since there’s not that much to do except for decorating your island and when you’re bad at decorating stuff it’s kind of boring…not as addictive as everybody made it out to be. the villagers are cute tho!
Show MoreShow Less
Narumeias
7/8/2021
i can’t rate this game a five star solely for the reason that there’s a limit to what you can accomplish each real life day. you can cheat it by changing your clock but i wanted to play it as it went. when i want to play it, i get on and usually finish what i needed to do. the beginning of the game is very slow. what i like about the game is how cute it is, how smooth the graphics looks both docked and portable mode. it’s fun when you have a lot on your plate for the day. i can see why so many lost so many real days living a fake life during the pandemic. and i 100% respect every second they spent doing it :)
Show MoreShow Less
Weezie_Lou
7/4/2021
DJ
5/29/2021
Simple, fun, relaxing, and charming. It's not perfect, the quality of life needs improving, as the game can get repetitive and lose its appeal after a while.
Show MoreShow Less
ddrubio89
5/28/2021
Kykynoel
5/27/2021
Mickey
5/27/2021
It absolutely does what it needs to it just isn't my type of game. It's an island-life simulator, if that's your thing, go for it.
Show MoreShow Less
alexe094
5/27/2021
weegee90000
5/26/2021
app13ju1ce
5/25/2021
Mindflowers
5/25/2021
Yamamura
5/25/2021
quack
5/25/2021
Great game! A little too slow towards the end for me, but the beginning is so amazing.
Show MoreShow Less
Idk_a_name
4/30/2021
The best animal crossing game with lots to do
Show MoreShow Less
BBD
3/11/2021
This is the best animal crossing game of all time and maybe even the best game on the switch. This game is great for anyone who just got a switch and maybe has never even played any Nintendo games before. It's super easy to follow and you will fall in love with your villagers in an instant. (And maybe hate a few too). I would recommended this game to anyone and everyone who owns a Nintendo switch.
Show MoreShow Less
saraduarter
2/27/2021
Crafty203
1/28/2021
RenyaKara
1/25/2021
I doubt there’s any Nintendo fan who does not know about Animal Crossing New Horizon. As an old fan, New Horizon is a fresh addition to the series. Once you start playing it be prepared to lose hundred of hours in game.
Show MoreShow Less
Minion2306
1/24/2021
Dragonify
12/29/2020
EeeBear
12/28/2020
bellachaos
12/26/2020
Such a fun, relaxing, engaging, endearing game. I’ve spent hundreds of hours developing my island, building relationships with my villagers, crafting, fishing, bug catching, touring other people’s islands, villager hunting, and much more. I feel genuine affection for my villagers so even if I stop playing for a period of time, I always want to come back to check on them and see all the new content that Nintendo keeps adding. This is my first Animal Crossing game and I didn’t think I would like it but I ended up absolutely LOVING it.
Show MoreShow Less
Biskit
11/18/2020
Best game on the switch in my opinion, definitely one you can play for years! You can escape to your own little island, and make it your own!
Show MoreShow Less
NienkeAdrienne
11/18/2020
Zula
11/16/2020
Animal Crossing is a amazing game, it is suited towards a variety of people, people that don't have much time, people who travel a lot or people that have all the time in the world. This is the only game that I would say is better as a digital game because you often want to just hop on and check your island, or like me maybe you go on the game when you wake up and before you go to sleep.
Show MoreShow Less
Maria
10/31/2020
For coming out at the right time in 2020, Animal Crossing New Horizons was a great game to stay in bed during quarantine in. The game is fairly relaxing with a nice soundtrack. The player has good opportunities to decorate and furnish their island. The real problem though is the game play, there isn't as much content in the game compared to older animal crossing games and players consistently feel burnt out after a while.
Show MoreShow Less
alinare
10/28/2020
kat kat
9/24/2020
I think this is one of the best games I have played ever since I have gotten my switch. It is very time consuming and fun. It always leaves me wanting more.
Show MoreShow Less
Vexidyy
9/3/2020
the best ac game ever. my friend and i played this for hours. and more to come bc of updates!
Show MoreShow Less
Boostomper
8/29/2020
Enjoy the game and the pace. I think the game play could improve by allowing players to speed up the process with making things or going through inventory. That’s my only complaint. I love the characters, the creatures to catch, and the items to collect.
Show MoreShow Less
kiwi
8/18/2020
Mimicolored
8/16/2020
Dokoro
8/14/2020
Kerootje
8/13/2020
ThammyDStreams
8/13/2020
Slug0bear
8/12/2020
It's a good game, I'd totally recommend it!
But the villagers are kinda boring, you need different types so you can actually get different dialogue and they're all...too kind.
The gameplay is fine, but I really want a lot of things in the game that it lacks, and it bums be out.
The design is super cute and I love how inclusive it is!
I love the ability to freely express yourself with your island and fashion!
It's a cute game, and I'd reccomend it to anyone.
Show MoreShow Less
Hsmioe
8/9/2020
Animal crossing is great, the only caveat to it is that if I miss a day on the island it becomes difficult to want to go back to it because of the negative side effects of real time system.
Show MoreShow Less
Nicholas7924
8/6/2020
GravitySoul28
8/5/2020
such a cute and relaxing game. i've been a die-hard animal crossing fan for years, since wild world. and this game really is fun and puts my creative mind to work. the graphics are phenomenal, and i love the creative freedom that we have here. however, there is one key issue in this game that i personally do not enjoy. as i said before, i have been playing this franchise for a very long time. and in the older games, the villagers each had personalities and would constantly give us tasks to complete within the game. personally, i enjoyed these tasks because it motivated me to interact with them and they wouldn't repeat the same dialogue over and over again in the same day. unfortunately, this is not the case for new horizons. the villagers practically act like lifeless robots. other than that, this game is really fun and i play it every day.
Show MoreShow Less
Vexidy
8/1/2020
best animal crossing game yet and original content ideas new updates around every month aswell!
Show MoreShow Less
RiriGamerG
8/1/2020
Nonejust
7/30/2020
I loveee this game and how Nintendo is going to bring out new stuff every month (even if some events get boring really fast). It's fun playing with others but Nintendo didn't fix all their network issues (some players can't play online because of their "connection type")
Show MoreShow Less
Tryxter
7/29/2020
The most relaxing game I have ever played. I love this game so much. I have sunk in nearly 400 hours and I could definitely see myself sink in twice that much more into the game.
Show MoreShow Less
Skyblade
7/28/2020
twebby69
7/28/2020
El_DaaS
7/28/2020
Alonelylemon
7/27/2020
GILTURIA
7/27/2020
?(*´?`*)?? i played this game for long time and it amazing
Show MoreShow Less
Rachfor3
7/27/2020
EzioMenutti
7/27/2020
Lander
7/27/2020
Highly anticipated this game for years now. Put near 400 hours into right away and had a great time. Loved seeing the characters again, love the immense amount of customization that can be done in game, and it's fun to visit friend's islands. That said, I wish there was more to do multiplayer wise. After the first few times, online play is basically just for selling turnips. Game also has really long load times. Overall, a great game and I look forward to the line up of updates to come.
Show MoreShow Less
Starstreak907
7/27/2020
Leegma
7/27/2020
Lilili Yabbay
7/27/2020
Fantastic game, could honestly use some quality of life improvements, but there's nothing that's stopping it from being the most played game on my switch.
Show MoreShow Less
AlexAzumi
7/26/2020
dewdropdreamer
7/26/2020
VoluXian
7/26/2020
Animal Crossing just has a kind of charm to it throughout all the games. New Horizons is no different. However, I do wish that all the content was there day 1. We probably won't get to the point where NH feels truly complete until a few years from now, which is pretty unfortunate imo. Regardless, I still enjoy every moment of this game.
Show MoreShow Less
@NintendoObsess
7/26/2020
A very addict of game that you should play at least a hour per day. This game base things in real time real days so you will want to get on it each day to do quest and take care of town people. This is the kind of game you can relax with and if you want have fun with friends online too. Very cute pretty game.
Show MoreShow Less
MegatonHero
7/26/2020
bearry
7/14/2020
reeree
7/12/2020
animal crossing is a great game and is a lot fun if you are into game like sim or stardew vallley. it has cute villagers and a great crafting mechanic that some times t's a little frustrating. Especially when your tools break but it's always worth it when finish i a project you've been working on for hours and hours
Show MoreShow Less
lolita
7/10/2020
iHayoona
7/8/2020
LuxrayLloyd
7/3/2020
Overall, it's an amazing game. And will definitely become a classic in the future!
Show MoreShow Less
Crawler375
6/18/2020
what is there to say
Show MoreShow Less
Jazzy an
6/17/2020
TheVoidRose
6/13/2020
Animal Crossing has never looked so good or play so well. Easy enough to get into for new comers and substantial improvements to satisfy veterans.
Show MoreShow Less
knovice
6/5/2020
As a long-time animal crossing game, this game is really enjoyable, but is honestly missing a lot of content seen in NL. Hopefully they can add more villager dialogue & mini games (like hide & seek) and previous special characters. This like reptitive dialogue and awful online really bog the game down & bring down the score, which would otherwise be a 4 or 5
Show MoreShow Less
jazusa03
6/3/2020
Slappy
5/28/2020
This game is perfect in every way, it sounds boring when I describe it because. Its a game where you catch bugs, catch fish, and are forever in debt. Yeah it sounds boring but it is so fun you have to trust me on this, just to show you how fun it is I have played more than 375 hours so yeah its super fun.
Show MoreShow Less
bobbyjackdotme
5/27/2020
Phriski
5/23/2020
iRamos99
5/19/2020
My wife has put so many hours on this game. She pretty much took over my switch and I had to get a new one. She is not the gamer type, so, I was pleased to see her get into a game. I've been following her progress as she racks-up Nook miles and upgrades her home. The level of detail that Nintendo put on the villagers' interactions and personalities is amazing.

Gameplay: You start on a deserted island. You get a tent for sleeping and off you go to start completing tasks to build up the island and make it the best attraction for future residents. These tasks are catching bugs, fishing, collecting fossils and seashells around the beach, picking up weeds, breaking rocks, chopping trees, collecting materials, and crafting tools and furniture with those materials.

As you complete these tasks you get Nook miles (a type of currency) and coins (a type of currency). There are certain items that you can get with Nook miles only. You use your money and miles to buy upgrades for your living quarters, travel to other islands to gather resources, and meet other residents, get accessories for your character and so for.

With time, you'll be able to invite villagers to become permanent residents of your island. You'll be able to reshape your island to be whatever you want it to be.

Conclusion: This game is addictive and consumes a lot of time. Fun to play for the casual gamer. Very relaxing!
Show MoreShow Less
npeelee
4/22/2020
Alex 07
4/21/2020
jaeden2000
4/19/2020
grate game will put tons of hours on it
Show MoreShow Less
Josiah11amel
4/18/2020
its fun and addictive but nintendo could fix a few thing like local multiplayer and islands per switch and saves
Show MoreShow Less
Vasaka
4/18/2020
QoL improvements are needed.
Show MoreShow Less
DrEleven
4/17/2020
A masterpiece. Everything that i would critisise about the old games are fixed here. Traforming is possible, you could sink potential hours into crafting, and the graphics and peformance runs like bread and butter. Great game to start the franchise.
Show MoreShow Less
candygominola
4/17/2020
It's Gorgeous, and much more than I expected. But they really need to change the online experience, specially the entering and leaving a friends island.

But it is the best Animal Crossing game ever made. I can not put it down.
Show MoreShow Less
Dodsley99
4/17/2020
A game that has so many little design faults in how the user plays and just little quality of life issues that make it a pain at times. However, it's so joyful, fun and calming. I've already sunk many hours into it and will continue to for the long time. It's not perfect but it's just so enjoyable.
Show MoreShow Less
its a beautiful relaxing game witch is what i need with all this going on in the world. even though this game is completely different to the survival horror games i cant get enough of i still found this game fun and entertaining for hours. would highly recommend this game
Show MoreShow Less
Oni
4/17/2020
100+ hours only in the first week, do I need to say more?
Show MoreShow Less
lalagonca
4/17/2020
Vexia
4/17/2020
danielkrs
4/17/2020
Reflekks
4/16/2020
Amazing game! SUPER addictive

Edit: Game has grown increasingly stale with a lack of updates from Nintendo. I've lost all motivation to play.
Show MoreShow Less
Admiral Hein
4/16/2020
It is all worth it. I never had any regrets buying it. Its so satisfying and relaxing at the same time. I could give this a good 5star rating easy
Show MoreShow Less
Moogy
4/16/2020
10/10 except it has a pretty bad multiplayer, Nintendo is a caveman when it comes to online services but solo playing like AC is best for, its a beast. One of my top 5 games in the last 10 years for sure. Such fun everyday to play
Show MoreShow Less
salad
4/16/2020
the beginning of the game is extremely slow and tedious... requiring you to grind for bells, resources, nook miles, etc (it also doesn't help that everything is in real time). However, once you get past that initial state of monotony, animal crossing: new horizons is an amazing game that I would recommend to anyone; you can do whatever you want to your island with barely any limitations. It is a platform of creative expression that is well worth your money
Show MoreShow Less
Moose
4/16/2020
This is the perfect game to play during quarantine! Just kicking back and relaxing and watching your island grow is a feeling like no other. I recommend this game to any one during these hard times. 10/10 for me!
Show MoreShow Less
AamitMorthos
4/16/2020
As much as I love animal crossing and as much as I am loving new horizons, there is still so much room for improvement. Yes, one island per-switch. Yes, no way to backup saves. Yes, seasonal events are issued through updates now. Yes these are problems but they are not the ONLY problems. This game is a life simulation-lite with survival elements which is weird for animal crossing... But not bad. There are definitely parts of this game that feels like they didn't finish some mechanics or didn't think about how to streamline others like bulk buying items/clothes with a cart, durability meter for tools, and cutting out unneeded menus and confirmations that aren't really needed (dodo airport). There's a lot of things from mechanics to content that's lacking in new horizons and lot of these things can be added or fixed with updates so I do hope to see that happen but knowing Nintendo...
Show MoreShow Less
Jimman
4/16/2020
Spoopy
4/16/2020
Best animal crossing game of the series. I have played it everyday since its launch and im not sick of it at all. A great game to play to de-stress after a long day. You can easily sink hours and hours into this everyday and its a lot more enjoyable when you play online with friends!
Show MoreShow Less
Qniine3000
4/16/2020
I have played far too much. AND I DO NOT REGRET IT! This game is perfect for quarantine.
Show MoreShow Less
WhyNotAzu
4/16/2020
fun game overall sucks having to wait real time but a extremely addicting game
Show MoreShow Less
AaronACD
4/16/2020
Boadsider_2077
4/16/2020
another fantastic title that I've played far too much.
Show MoreShow Less
Gretz
4/16/2020
Subjugglator
4/16/2020

On Steam™ 0 0

* Disclaimer: Reviews are from the Steam (PC) version of the game. These are not indicative of performance on Switch.
Guest Date: 6/27/2022