• Rate & Review
  • Add to Library
  • Add to Wishlist

Super Mario Maker™ 2

Action, Platformer 

Break the rules and make the Super Mario courses you’ve always dreamed of in Super Mario Maker 2, only on Nintendo Switch! 

Release Date
Jun 28th, 2019
Publisher
Nintendo
ESRB Rating
E
Has Physical Release
Yes
Price
$59.99 (USD)
Overall Rating
Gameplay Rating
Graphics Rating
Performance Rating
Number of Players
4+
Play Modes
Supported Controllers

Screenshots

Related Videos

Description

Mario fans of the world, unite! Now you can play, create, and share* the side-scrolling Super Mario™ courses of your dreams in the Super Mario Maker™ 2 game, available exclusively on the Nintendo Switch™ system! Dive into the single-player Story Mode and play built-in courses to rebuild Princess Peach’s castle. Make your own courses, alone or together. And with a Nintendo Switch Online membership*, share your courses, access a near-endless supply made by others, enjoy online multiplayer, and more!

A new side-scrolling Mario adventure that unleashes the creative potential of Super Mario Maker 2 awaits in Story Mode, which contains over 100 built-in courses. And in Course Maker, a wide range of parts, tools, and more are available so you can construct your own courses. Want coin-shooting cannons? Bowser riding on a giant Goomba? Cat Mario sliding down slopes to take out an army of baddies? Go for it! You call the shots. Pass a Joy-Con™ controller to a partner to build cooperatively on a single system!

Power-up the fun even further with a Nintendo Switch Online membership, which gives you access to Course World and its wealth of online content and functionality. Track your rankings, share your creations, and leave comments after you’ve played courses. With a Nintendo Switch Online membership, you can also tackle Endless Challenge, save online courses locally for later offline play, enjoy online multiplayer with players both near and far, and customize how you appear to others by dressing your Mii™ character with fun accessories!

On NSG Reviews©

Lil Gros Big
7/12/2022
Mbyrnes21
7/2/2022
enderthepro
6/30/2022
greenpeg8
3/6/2022
Avishapiro58
10/30/2021
Switch4Ever
10/4/2021
Mario Maker sounds like a great concept, but it actually doesn’t work. You can either play through an uninspired inferior version of New Super Mario Bros in the campaign or you can try to make something out of a handful of limited enemies and assets. You can’t make a real Mario map like what you’d see in New Super Mario, just a simple map with four kinds of enemies or cheap troll maps.
Show MoreShow Less
Lv100Nerd
9/5/2021
Bowz
9/4/2021
iamword
9/4/2021
Xakameira
8/18/2021
AwildMew2
8/6/2021
Fun to play good levels, especially with friends. Making levels takes a bit of skill so i never did it
Show MoreShow Less
Rickstar2008
8/4/2021
Endless fun. Worth the price
Show MoreShow Less
Mickey
5/27/2021
Really cool concept. Every possible, conceivable, 2d Mario game exists because of this. I don't play this as much anymore but whether you're into making or playing, if you like Mario this is for you. Online is a bit rough.
Show MoreShow Less
weegee90000
5/26/2021
Idk_a_name
5/1/2021
soos
4/10/2021
i love this game.. perfect :D
Show MoreShow Less
gametoonz
3/10/2021
this game is very fun, you get to make your own levels, play pre-made levels, and levels from other people. the graphics look like the original games and the speed is good, my only problem is the lag that you sometimes get when playing online
Show MoreShow Less
Minion2306
2/1/2021
Who doesn't like making their own Mario levels!
Show MoreShow Less
RenyaKara
1/25/2021
A wide variety of levels for all skills, cute story and fun challenge.
Show MoreShow Less
001 conor
10/5/2020
NLChief
8/27/2020
surfinbrat
7/30/2020
This is my first Mario game! It's not the best for someone who's never really played Super Mario before because there were a lot of things I didn't know how to do (like grabbing items, jumping onto buttons, changing coins into blocks, etc). I understood only the very basics as a platformer but couldn't solve the puzzles without some help from my brother who guided me through the tricks. After help with the first few "jobs" in story mode, I really had the hang of it and started getting hooked! I'm only playing Story Mode for now so that I feel comfortable with all things Mario before making my own courses and getting deeper into others' submissions.
Show MoreShow Less
Shock_Wave
7/30/2020
Amazing game with endless mario levels, a huge arsenal of creation tools, with endless possibilities this game is definitely worth its price.
Show MoreShow Less
VoluXian
7/30/2020
This would be the perfect 2D Mario toolbox if: A. Creator discoverability was better | B. Online wasn't so laggy

Other than those two things, I still have a lot of fun playing and creating.
Show MoreShow Less
El_DaaS
7/28/2020
engda59
7/27/2020
EzioMenutti
7/27/2020
Ethan
7/27/2020
Everything about this game is brilliant but the online tends to be laggy a lot
Show MoreShow Less
@NintendoObsess
7/26/2020
The story mode is very short and the story is a basic fix my castle kind of thing. If you buy this you want to play the fun and super addictive. The online can lag little but doesn't happen much. The online is be alive for years.
Show MoreShow Less
HarryL
7/12/2020
Just a Great game
Show MoreShow Less
Plaazmaa7
7/11/2020
LuxrayLloyd
7/3/2020
Unlimited Creativity!
Show MoreShow Less
MrGameman_12
7/2/2020
TheVoidRose
6/13/2020
knovice
6/5/2020
Bought the game and played it for a day, but ended up giving it to my friend as it just wasn't for me. Not a huge fan of platformers to begin with, and was disappointed by the lack of options to play with more than one person, which was originally the main reason I bought it.
Show MoreShow Less
jazusa03
6/3/2020
AymanDev
4/26/2020
Alex 07
4/21/2020
Josiah11amel
4/18/2020
DrEleven
4/17/2020
In this review i'd like to talk about the 2 sides of SMM2: Creating and Playing. First: making levels. Since there's not the Wii U gamepad to draw on so making levels isn't as easy as it is in that game, but the UI is still amazing. If i'm finding an item, i would be able to find it with 5 seconds. However, the charm and wackyness of the original seems to be lacking in this game. As for playing, there's a full fleged story mode in this game and it's not anything massive, but it's a mode that'll give a few more hours of playtime. Playing levels for the most part is great. There's local and online multiplayer which kinda works, but it's not the best multiplayer ever. Expect chaos all over the place. 100 Mario Challenge is now replaced with Endless challenge which is better in my opinion. Overall, it's a game that really depends on what you'll feel like doing. If you like weird and wacky levels, then this game is for you.
Show MoreShow Less
Skyblade
4/17/2020
Oni
4/17/2020
Editor is harder to use than the Wii U one, so the levels in this game have a bigger level of "commitment" poured into them.
Show MoreShow Less
danielkrs
4/17/2020
Jimman
4/16/2020
Qniine3000
4/16/2020
I bought this game for someone else. But, I could not resist it. so I played it before giving it as a gift. AND, OMG, This game is amazing. If you have a creative mind, this is your game.
PD: I kept the game for myself LOL XD
Show MoreShow Less
Subjugglator
4/16/2020
iRamos99
12/17/2019
It's unlimited 2D Mario. Play thru the short campaign and make you own Mario levels or play from the thousand of levels created by other players around the world. A must have Mario game.
Show MoreShow Less

On Steam™ 0 0

* Disclaimer: Reviews are from the Steam (PC) version of the game. These are not indicative of performance on Switch.
Guest Date: 8/15/2022